The second week as a blogger

No longer a blogging virgin I set out on the beach today thinking of things to say in what I intend will become a regular Friday post

When you are retired a Friday does not have the same significance it does when you work. It is not the start of the weekend or the joyous end of the working week. Same as bank holidays, they don’t mean anything special. The only important days now are the binman comes on a Thursday and Tony the window cleaner comes to clean windows every other Tuesday and comes for his money the next day. The sameness of days is reinforced by my dog, Bruce (someone told me he was fat this week, I’m supersensitive to him being called a fat lab) who gets up at the same time everyday including when the clocks went back this week!!!!

Anyway my main topic this week is the demise of whistling. When I was a boy milkmen, postmen and tradesmen in general whistled in the street. There was an expression “whistle while you work” The world was a better place then. As a young boy it was important you could whistle, it was a very manly grown-up thing, very few girls could although big Daphne could ( Us boys though she was more like us and that was before lesbianism was invented ) Britain was a nation of whistlers, we were world class in it. Foreigners to my knowledge couldn’t or wouldn’t whistler. It must have been abolished when we went into the EEC.

The thing that disappeared about the same time was pipe smoking. A man who smoked a pipe always looked contented somehow. My Dad smoked a pipe most of his life, I tried but it kept going out probably because I talked too much! In fact I was thinking, not on the beach, but when I was walking in the fields near my house, non of the horrible men in history smoked pipes. Hitler, Napoleon, Mussolini, Saddam Hussein, Stalin even to my knowledge Genghis Khan or Vlad the Impaler. All I’m saying is that the world seemed a happier place when men whistled and smoked pipes.

Girls not being able to whistle, in fact women brings me onto the subject that most women can’t throw balls. It is very apparent on the beach because they now use those stick things. They flick the ball for their dogs to chase.

Will be pleased when half term is over too many people on the beach, too many dogs and lots of kids. don’t get me wrong I love kids( i used to be one ) , I had two and I’ve now got the most wonderful grand daughter. It’s just that my dogs attention span is very short, he wants to see every dog and every person. Dogs to play with and he checks to see if people are carrying treats or food. He’s the only dog I know recognizes Sainsbury bags. I go to Sainsburys to shop, (a) Because it,s only a 1/4 of a mile away (b)I know where everything is (c) A better class of woman shops there!

Right now I have to make a decision, what is a tag and what is a category. I’m guessing so if I get it wrong. Sorry.

Look I know most of this was crap but stick with it I’m only practising on you I will get better I promise

Leave a Reply

