THE DAY BEFORE SATURDAY, AGAIN

I’m here again blogging away as if I’d done it all my life instead of a few weeks. I have picked up several waifs and strays as followers so we are nearly a football team now. Thanks for being there.

Well this week has been a funny week on and off the beach. Weather apart from today has been cold, wet and windy. Just the way Bruce and I like it . Not many other dogs or people. It is OUR beach and we dont like fair weather people who walk dogs and we certainly dont like dogs that wear coats. They should stay in their handbags! Labradors and Spaniels are still swimming even though it is freezing. There are some exceptions to dogs wearing coats, old dogs and greyhound or whippets ( who look cold in the middle of summer)  Bruce has been ill this week , it’s his own fault he was eating seaweed. Other dogs eat it and seem to be fine but he copies them and is sick everytime. Stupid boy!

Off the beach has not been good, my boiler is leaking, my daughter has been ill and my vacuum cleaner has decided not to suck. And for those of you who know anything about poetry my creative writing class tutor said my latest poem about 20 lines long may have been better as a haiku!!! What a cheek.

I dont have any gripes this week, could easily make some up but cant be bothered.

Some of you who like football may have noticed the two football teams I mentioned last week, Blyth Spartans and Newcastle both had good wins. So there have been some good things this week.

Xmas is now nearly upon us and for once I am well prepared. Xmas tree and decorations up. Most presents purchased and Xmas cards ready to be written. Now I have a grand daughter who was born on the 23rd Dec I am looking forward this year to her birthday and and Xmas day. This year she will probably enjoy playing with the Xmas paper and the boxes the presents are in rather than the presents themselves.

My mother died when I was young and my Dad was only 52. He always missed her most at Xmas and while it can be the happiest time of the year for most people it is the loniest and saddest for many others. We need to always remember that! That’s the sermon for today.

Some of you may not know the North East of England well. It is the most Northerly part of England below Scotland and the people are different to most other parts of the Uk. The Roman Wall runs right through the middle of it and it was , when it was called Northumbria the most religious and learned place in England. It consists of Nothumberland , Durham and parts of North Yorkshire. People from the Newcastle area are called Geordies and have a dialetic which is different to other parts of England. The language is a mixture of Anglo Saxon, Celtic and Norse words. Northumberland has many castles, beautiful beaches and is the least populated in England. I will return to this subject of my home area in the future. It has a unigueness about it , the people and and the place.

This weeks poem is attached. It is a love poem, unusual for me.Revelation

.

Leave a Reply

