FANFARE FRIDAY

I doubt if anyone missed me but I was away last Friday on holiday. I was walking from Ilkley in Yorkshire to Bowness-on Windemere in the Lake District a distance of 82 miles. We, me and three other elderly gentlemen took 5 1/2 days an average of 16 miles a day. It was enjoyable but I thought I would feel euphoric when I reached the end but the truth is I was just relieved to finish and go home to my own bed. To also put the feat in context we had our luggage transported by an appropriately named company, Sherpa. We also stayed in pubs and bed and breakfast places. At my age I need a comfortable bed and a shower every night.

A lot has happened since my last blog. The world is now being taken over by women. Theresa May has become PM, Angela Merkel in Germany, hopefully Hilary Clinton in the US. A woman Home Secretary, a woman challenging for leader of the Labour Party and a woman first minister in Scotland. I have no problems with that at all! I am however delighted that the “poor little rich boys” messrs. Cameron and Osborne have gone. The dwarfish Michael Gove ( who because he thinks he’s clever everybody should think so.) He did get top marks for treachery however. Nicky Morgan has gone only because she was useless and Stephen Crabb for being caught sending sex texts (or to put it another way he said it was to spend more time with his family!)

Unfortunately Jeremy Hunt remains and the humourless Hammond has been promoted. Boris Johnson is now foreign secretary but at least the rest of the world thinks he is nearly as funny as Donald Trump.

The Labour Party? Well I am a supporter, but they are trying to destroy the party between themselves. Jeremy Corbyn, is principled, intelligent and supposedly a nice man but he is totally useless as a leader. But the other two running as new leader don’t inspire. They appear to be running on the “we are not as bad as Jeremy Corbyn” ticket. I’m waiting for a messiah to emerge but I may have a long wait.

Lets have some humour. 11,000 keys are lost on the London Tubes and buses every year and I have to confess some are mine!

Picasso painted using ordinary house paint but I want to know what he painted his house with?

There are 8 million Jehovah’s Witnesses on Earth but according to their teachings only 144,000 will be saved at the end of the world. Presumably the rest will be killed in the rush for the exits!

The seven dwarfs are Dopey, Sneezy, Bashful, Grumpy, Sleepy, Happy and Doc. Those names rejected were Baldy, Deafy, Burpy, Tubby, Shorty, Wheezy, Lazy, Jumpy, Dizzy, Nifty and Puffy. I wonder how would be allowed in these days of political correctness?

Fraid todays poem is dark                    RELEASE

 

Leave a Reply

