FOSSIL FRIDAY

Fossil Friday not because I’m old but because I’m in an organisation called U3A which is an abbreviation for University of the third age. It’s basically an organisation which promotes education for elderly people. Old people obviously cant do the same physical things as when you are young(I still try) but a lot of us still want to learn new subjects. The beauty is when you retire you have more time and your kids have left home. Ok, a lot of us have grand children duties but we have more free time to do things we couldn’t when we worked. In my case I have studied ecology, local history, archaeology, natural history and most of all creative writing. I had never written anything after leaving school apart from business letters and reports. Certainly nothing creative. But know I write this blog every week, a poem and at least one short story. To be honest I don’t know if I am any good but I have just been short listed for one of my stories in my local area North Tyneside. The important thing is I love writing!!!!

After all that the reason for Fossil Friday is I’m leading a archaeology group. You who are young dont be frightened of old age there are still lots of exciting  opportunies to achieve things. Actually I’m off to Lisbon and Porto in Portugal and Madrid  in Spain tomorrow on my own and I’m going to Vietnam in January. There’s life in the old dog yet.

The police in the UK have just admitted its now treating insults against people with ginger hair as hate crime. What a joke!

Two years ago a British citizen was kidnapped and removed to Ethiopa. He has spoken out against that countries terrible human rights record. Nobody from this country has demanded his release. He had lived in the UK for 37 years since his younger brrther was murdered by the regime. Our government has doing to help. Shame on you!!

HUMOUR            Alternative names considered for Twitter were Friendstalker and Throbber. Wouldn’t Throbber have been great!

Not funny but amazing, Mississippi did not prohibit slavery until 1995.

The company Apple Inc. is worth more than Sweden, Poland or Nigeria.

The founders of Hewlett-Packard, presumably Mr Hewlett and Mr Packard flipped a coin to decide which name would come first in the company name.

So Mr Putin has decided to bomb Aleppo, Syria from his aircraft carrier now. And who’s going to stop him bombing the 250,000 left in the East of the city out of existence. Nobody is the answer because the whole world is frightened of him. Cowards!!!!!!!!!!!!

Finally a British woman who claims she was raped in Dubai was put in prison for having extra-marital sex. The two men, also British have not been arrested so far. The foreign office “are aware of the situation” but have done nothing. What sort of country has laws like that. Oh, I forgot, they,ve got lots of oil. So what do we do , turn a blind eye!

Poem attached                        a-premonition

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

