FALSIFINGLY FRIDAY

It was my birthday last week day. I surprised myself (a) by finding out im 73 (yes I know its old but please read on!) and also that im still alive. (or so Im reliably informed) Now when i was in my thirties and my Dad was 73 i really did think he was old. He was!. But things were so different then. Even when he retired he wore collar and tie everyday and made sure his shoes were polished. He never owned a pair of denims or trainers. There was only two television channels. There were no mobile phones or internet. He only flew once, to visit relatives in Canada. I have flown several hundred times. Food was fish and meat with vegetables. To my knowledge he never ate a Chinese or Indian meal. He was vquite active , walked everyday and lived with good health until he died of a massive stroke at 84. He could hold a lively conversation until the day he died. But he was considered old.

Now me at 73 , I travel abroad a lot, I walk with my dog at least two hours a day. In fact next week Im doing a 70 mile walk (over several days). My live style is totally different  to that of my Dads. I suppose i should settle for living pretty healthily until Im 84 too but now I  want more than that. Notice I never said a “better” life. He was happy with his life as am I . Times are just so different. Our aspirations and expectations are different. I suppose all Im saying is that just because someone is old in age dont write them off. Age is in the mind. I was going to give examples of people in high places who were inspirational over 70 but then I thought of Donald Trump!!!!!!

HUMOUR-Members of the Yazidi religion of Iraq are forbidden to eat lettuce.  I wonder why?

During his lifetime Lewis Carroll wrote 98,721 letters. Did he do anything else worthwhile?

Cheesy originally meant excellent.

Chinese eunuchs kept their testicles in a jar in the hope they will attached themselves in the next world.

Apparently it is bad for a dog to jump out of a 4×4 boot. Shame my labrador has been doing it several times a day for six and a half years now.

Japan and Russia are technically at war but they are both playing in the World Cup in Russia.England have no “official recognition” of Russia but we are also there. But we havent sent any Royals or politicians there.. That must really worry the Russians!!!

So instead of having wars and trade embargos against each why not just decide it all on football fields?

What sort of message and to whom was Melania Trump’s coat with the slogan “I really dont care do U? meant for?

OLD FASHIONED WORDS- Gist- the essence or main point in a article or argument.

Gogglebox-Television.

Comfy-Comfortable, snug.

Skew-whiff- not straight, askew,awry                                                                                                 Poem Attached                                     NATURE

 

Leave a comment